All across the country, in smaller towns outside the media spotlight, a new America is being built - one that is innovative, compromise-minded, optimistic, and working toward practical solutions to the problems of this age.

 

This is the site for the people, communities, and organizations creating America's future, right now.

Scroll Down

The Story of a Journey, and of an America That Works

Since 2013, Deborah and James Fallows have traveled to small communities in every part of the country that have faced economic shocks, political crises, or other serious hardships. Each place they went, they talked with teachers, business creators, mayors, religious leaders, students, artists and architects, librarians, and others involved in shaping their community's future.

As they traveled across the country, at low altitude in a little propeller airplane, they saw the patterns of river and hill that explain the pattern of American settlement. On the ground, they saw the emerging pattern of American reinvention - through the stories collected here

Upcoming Events

Sep
23
Pablo Center at the Confluence Grand Opening
4:00 PM
Pablo Center at the Confluence
128 Graham Avenue Eau Claire, WI 54701
Sep
27
"Our Towns" with James Fallows
6:30 PM
Ron Robinson Theater
100 River Market Avenue Little Rock, AR 72201
Oct
01
Innovations Across America: A Conversation with Deb and Jim Fallows
6:00 PM
Urban Institute
2100 M Street NW, 5th Floor Washington, DC 20037
Oct
02
The Atlantic Festival
Various
Penn Quarter Washington, DC 20004
Oct
09
USC Annenberg Center on Communication Leadership & Policy
3630 Watt Way Los Angeles, CA 90089
Our Towns Book

The story of a journey, and a country remaking itself: “Our Towns will become a classic, joining the ranks of American odysseys from De Tocqueville to Dos Passos. THe landscape unfurls beneath us; the language of different regions echoes in our ears. Most important, this book is a tonic for what ails us as a nation, a captivating story of energy and renewal across the land.”

Anne-Marie Slaughter, President & CEO, New America

“In the tradition of John Steinbeck and Studs Terkel, the Fallows have crisscrossed the country in search of the extraordinary strength and character of ordinary people and places. What they’ve found--in towns we know and others off the beaten pathshould give us all great hope for the future.” California Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.

BUY THE BOOK